Latest News

News from WA's Office of Energy

(October 03, 2011)

House Design

Building a new home or renovating your existing home is always an exciting venture and the satisfaction even greater when some basic energy efficiency principles are included.

As from 1 May 2011, the 6 star minimum energy efficiency standards in the Building Code of Australia (BCA) will take effect in Western Australia, although a 12 month transition period applies to enable consumers and the building industry to adjust to the new specifications.

The star rating system is the energy efficiency of the house design calculated by computer software and rated from zero to ten stars. The present 5 star Plus standards will apply during the transition period.

Click here to return to the Latest News page